Installing a garden window averages $2,500 per window installed, with most homeowners paying $1,200 – $3,650.1,2 Angi (2026 data) and HomeAdvisor (2025 data) publish this average and range identically – the two are corporate siblings, and matching figures alone don’t establish independent corroboration.1,2 Fixr (updated January 2025) separately reports a $3,000 national average, scoped to a 48″ x 48″ vinyl garden window with a shelf and double-pane, low-E glass installed, inside an average range of $1,500 – $5,000. Its low end is $800 (24″ x 24″ aluminum, double-pane, all fixed panels) and its high end is $6,000 (60″ x 72″ wood, triple-pane, argon-filled, spectrally selective coating).3 The publishers’ headline figures differ, and each is shown as published. Prices below are national averages*.
*National averages, not local quotes. Your price depends on window size, frame material, glass type, whether the opening needs enlarging, and local labor rates.
$2,500
average installed (Angi/HomeAdvisor)
$1,200–$3,650
most homeowners, installed (Angi/HomeAdvisor)
$3,000
national average (Fixr, 48″ x 48″ vinyl spec)
$1,500–$5,000
average range (Fixr)
What the sources say
| Source | Headline figures | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Angi (2026 data, updated Oct 2026) | $2,500 average; most homeowners $1,200 – $3,650 per window installed; new or larger opening adds $2,000 – $3,000 | Corporate sibling of HomeAdvisor; identical headline figures and several tables |
| HomeAdvisor (2025 data, updated Jun 2026) | Identical $2,500 average and $1,200 – $3,650 normal range; identical material and brand tables | Sibling-identical figures; matching figures alone don’t establish independent corroboration |
| Fixr (updated Jan 2025) | $3,000 average scoped to a 48″ x 48″ vinyl window with shelf and double-pane low-E glass; average range $1,500 – $5,000; low $800; high $6,000 | Average carries a defined project scope; separately published, pages state no shared sourcing |
Angi and HomeAdvisor’s headline is higher-bound identical because the two are corporate siblings. Fixr’s average is separately published and higher ($3,000 vs. $2,500), scoped to a specific mid-size vinyl installation; the sources do not reconcile the difference, and neither do we.
Cost by size
All three publishers price garden windows by size on a window-only basis (no labor). Angi and HomeAdvisor are corporate siblings and their figures are identical, but they print two rows under different size labels – both labels are kept as published:1,2,3
| Size (in.) | Angi (materials only) | HomeAdvisor (window only) | Fixr (unit only) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 24 x 24 | $400 – $1,300 | – | $500 – $700 |
| 24 x 30 | $500 – $1,400 | $500 – $1,400 | – |
| 30 x 30 | $700 – $1,500 | $700 – $1,500 | $550 – $800 |
| 36 x 36 | $875 – $1,500 | $875 – $1,500 | – |
| 36 x 46 | $900 – $1,600 | – | – |
| 36 x 48 | – | $900 – $1,600 | $600 – $2,000 |
| 40 x 26 | – | $1,000 – $2,600 | – |
| 40 x 46 | $1,000 – $2,600 | – | – |
| 48 x 48 | $1,050 – $3,200 | $1,050 – $3,200 | $1,200 – $3,000 |
| 60 x 72 | $2,000 – $6,000 | $2,000 – $6,000 | $2,000 – $4,500 |
Angi labels its table materials only; HomeAdvisor labels its table window only (excluding labor); Fixr labels its column unit only. Fixr also publishes installed prices by size:3
| Size (in.) | Fixr (installed) |
|---|---|
| 24 x 24 | $800 – $1,700 |
| 30 x 30 | $900 – $1,800 |
| 36 x 48 | $1,100 – $3,800 |
| 48 x 48 | $1,500 – $4,500 |
| 60 x 72 | $2,500 – $6,000 |
Cost by frame material
Angi and HomeAdvisor publish an identical installed-cost material table (sibling-published figures). Fixr prices a 36″ x 48″ window, unit only and installed. The bases differ, so the columns stay separate:1,2,3
| Frame material | Angi/HomeAdvisor (installed) | Fixr (unit only, 36″ x 48″) | Fixr (installed, 36″ x 48″) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aluminum | $900 – $2,600 | $600 – $800 | $900 – $2,000 |
| Vinyl | $1,000 – $3,100 | $700 – $1,000 | $1,000 – $2,400 |
| Fiberglass | $1,100 – $3,200 | $800 – $1,800 | $1,100 – $3,200 |
| Wood | $1,200 – $3,800 | $900 – $2,000 | $1,200 – $3,800 |
The fiberglass and wood installed figures are identical across all three publishers – Angi and HomeAdvisor are corporate siblings, and Fixr’s matching figures are separately published with no shared sourcing stated. Aluminum and vinyl installed figures differ between the sibling pair and Fixr; the sources do not explain the difference.
Cost by glass type
Angi prices pane upgrades per window without stating a scope; Fixr prices a 36″ x 48″ window, unit only and installed. HomeAdvisor discusses glass options without prices. Columns stay separate:1,3
| Glass type | Angi (per window, scope not stated) | Fixr (unit only, 36″ x 48″) | Fixr (installed, 36″ x 48″) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Double-pane | $900 – $2,500 | $600 – $1,000 | $900 – $2,500 |
| Triple-pane | $1,500 – $3,300 | $1,200 – $1,800 | $1,500 – $3,300 |
| Low-E coating | $1,000 – $2,700 | $700 – $1,200 | $1,000 – $2,700 |
| Argon-filled | $1,300 – $3,200 | $1,000 – $1,700 | $1,300 – $3,200 |
| Spectrally selective coating | – | $800 – $1,500 | $1,100 – $3,000 |
| Krypton-filled | – | $1,500 – $2,000 | $1,800 – $3,500 |
Angi’s figures match Fixr’s installed column for the four glass types they both price. Those figures are separately published, and the pages state no shared sourcing.
Fixed vs. operable
Angi prices fixed and operable windows without stating a scope; Fixr prices a 36″ x 48″ window, unit only and installed:1,3
| Window type | Angi (scope not stated) | Fixr (unit only, 36″ x 48″) | Fixr (installed, 36″ x 48″) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fixed | $600 – $1,000 | $600 – $1,800 | $900 – $3,300 |
| Operable / moving | $900 – $2,000 | $900 – $2,000 | $1,200 – $3,500 |
Angi’s operable figure matches Fixr’s unit-only moving figure – separately published figures, pages state no shared sourcing.
Cost by brand
Angi and HomeAdvisor publish an identical brand table of average costs (sibling-published figures); Fixr publishes unit-only ranges for medium-sized windows. The brand lists and scopes differ:1,2,3
| Brand | Angi/HomeAdvisor (average) | Fixr (unit only, medium window) |
|---|---|---|
| ThermaStar by Pella | $500 | – |
| Jeld-Wen | $600 | – |
| Andersen | $700 | $1,400 – $4,000 |
| Harvey | $600 | $1,200 – $3,800 |
| Milgard | $1,000 | $800 – $2,700 |
| Pella | – | $800 – $2,200 |
| Simonton | – | $1,300 – $3,500 |
| Ventana USA | – | $1,200 – $4,000 |
The two brand lists are not directly comparable: Angi and HomeAdvisor publish averages without stating a scope, while Fixr publishes unit-only ranges.
Labor, opening, and removal costs
All three publishers put installation labor at $300 – $1,500 per window – Angi and HomeAdvisor are corporate siblings, and Fixr’s matching figure is separately published with no shared sourcing stated. Angi and HomeAdvisor frame that as 20% to 35% of the material cost; Fixr says most homeowners spend $500 – $1,000 on labor.1,2,3
| Item | Cost | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Enlarging an existing opening | $2,000 – $3,000 | Angi |
| Prep for a brand-new opening | about 50% more on prep work | Angi |
| Custom garden window | up to $4,000 | Angi |
| Old window removal and disposal | up to $200 | Fixr |
Fixr reports that replacing an existing garden window with one of the same size and shape lands in the same $1,500 – $5,000 installed range as a new installation, because the wall is already prepared.3
Cost by location in the home
Fixr is the only source that prices garden windows by room, on an installed basis, using the most common size for each space:3
| Location | Fixr (installed) |
|---|---|
| Kitchen | $800 – $1,800 |
| Bedroom | $900 – $3,800 |
| Living room | $1,100 – $6,000 |
Kitchen garden windows are typically the smallest and are often installed above the sink – see our kitchen remodel cost guide for the broader project context.
Garden window vs. bay window
Fixr compares the two protruding window types on an installed basis: bay windows at $1,350 – $3,600 and garden windows at $1,500 – $5,000.3 See our bay window cost guide for a full breakdown of that project.
Glass choice drives much of a garden window’s price because the unit is mostly glass. Our double-pane window cost guide and window replacement cost guide cover those projects in detail.
Frequently asked questions
How much does it cost to install a garden window?
Angi and HomeAdvisor report a $2,500 average with most homeowners paying $1,200 – $3,650 per window installed (sibling-published figures). Fixr separately reports a $3,000 average inside a $1,500 – $5,000 average range, scoped to a 48″ x 48″ vinyl window with shelf and double-pane low-E glass.1,2,3
How much is a 48-inch garden window?
On a window-only basis, all three sources price a 48″ x 48″ unit in a narrow band: Angi and HomeAdvisor at $1,050 – $3,200 (sibling-published) and Fixr at $1,200 – $3,000. Fixr puts the installed cost at $1,500 – $4,500.1,2,3
How much does labor cost for a garden window?
All three publishers report $300 – $1,500 per window (Angi and HomeAdvisor are corporate siblings; Fixr’s matching figure is separately published with no shared sourcing stated). Fixr adds that most homeowners spend $500 – $1,000 on labor.1,2,3
Does enlarging the opening cost extra?
Angi reports $2,000 – $3,000 to enlarge an existing opening for a larger garden window, and about 50% more prep work when there is no existing rough opening.1
Related guides
Bay Window Cost
Double-Pane Window Cost
Window Replacement Cost
Kitchen Remodel Cost
All cost guides
Sources
1. Angi — How Much Does a Garden Window Cost? (2026 data)
2. HomeAdvisor — What Do Garden Windows Cost? (2025 data)
3. Fixr — Garden Window Installation Cost (updated Jan 2025)